Dave Filloni: will the story of how Ahsoka got her two lightsabers ever be told?

This is like our q, why did Ahsoka change outfits. Here’s Dave’s official take: Filoni: It’s usually a story we stay away from. It’s something I learned from George. It’s like Luke shows up in Jedi, with his new lightsaber. Now we know there was a deleted scene where we see him finishing it, but we don’t explain where he got the crystal, we don’t explain how he got the parts. And George just feels strongly that it’s just there. We just go into it. We don’t explain it. It just happens. Now for me writing it and directing it, I have a lot of ideas. And my idea was always that Ahsoka is a pretty small girl – she’s pretty diminutive, compared to say Grievous, who’s massive. So in order to keep up with her overpowering, physical opponents, Anakin is the one who told her to fashion this secondary blade so that she can be blocking and cutting inside. Because it’s a weapon that she can use with speed and it really compliments her speed. All that logic is awesome and also the fact that she just looks infinitely cooler. That helps!

I also wanted to make a statement for that half of the season saying she’s getting older, she’s getting more experienced and she’s more the warrior than she was when she was a younger girl. And so it had that kind of thing too. Then all these other things dawn on you like the Secret Apprentice had two lightsabers and Anakin taught him, so now… Wow. That’s just synergy at its best I guess! I was talking to Haden Blackman and he pointed that out and I thought, “Wow, I never realized that!” And they both use the reverse grip. And I was like, “I guess it just had to be!”

So yeah, it would be a fun story. And it’s something I consider more I would do at Dark Horse [as a comic book]. I know Randy Stradley quite well and I always talk to him. I have an Ahsoka origin story on how she gets found by Plo Koon and what that little fable is about. And I’ve actually outlined it quite extensively and done a lot of preliminary sketches, because it’s something I would be very interested in illustrating myself. Because I used to be a full time 2D animator and I used to draw every day for a living and I miss it. So it would be a great way for me to just get that out of my system. Every now and then I do a cover for Randy and that would be fun. It’s just finding the time to do it is the challenge! So one day I’ll do it. One day it’ll happen. And I think it’ll be a fun story for the Ahsoka fans out there.

One thought on “Dave Filloni: will the story of how Ahsoka got her two lightsabers ever be told?

  1. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession
    capital to claim that I acquire actually loved
    account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I fulfillment you get entry to consistently rapidly.

Leave a Comment!

